Feed Us, Pioneer Woman!

My boyfriend doesn’t like peppers or mushrooms. He’s hesitant but kind when I ask him to try or eat veggies I’ve made or to try something new. The best way to get him to eat veggies is to put them into a stir fry…which works fine for me, but the kids aren’t as excited about such veggie-forward cuisine. They like it best when the vegetables are cheesed or sweetened or somehow disguised. But the nearly five year old can pick out an onion from a mile away and there really is no hiding things from her. But like her daddy, she’s kind, so most days, she’ll eat what I make because I told her that I’ve made it “with love.”

I look to the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, this week to inspire me to feed this little family. One meal I fall back on frequently is meatloaf. I haven’t made it in about a month, so I figured it’s about time to make it again, but find a new recipe to play around with.

Here’s what I found: the Pioneer Woman’s Favorite Meatloaf. This particular recipe is appealing to me for a few different reason. The first and most important reason, perhaps, is the addition of bacon. I have a pound of bacon in my fridge that’s walking the green mile. It needs to go. Wrapped around meatloaf? Perfect.

Here are Ree’s ingredients and instructions straight from her website. Emboldened and in parentheses next to her recipe, are the changes I plan to make.

Ingredients

  • Meatloaf:
  • 1 cup Whole Milk (I will use 2%. It’s just what we buy)
  • 6 slices White Bread (Wheat bread)
  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1 cup (heaping) Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese (freshly grated? likely not)
  • 1/4 teaspoon Seasoned Salt (hmmm…mayyybee…)
  • 3/4 teaspoons Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/3 cup Minced Flat-leaf Parsley
  • 4 whole Eggs, Beaten
  • 10 slices Thin/regular Bacon (only used 7)
  • Sauce:
  • 1-1/2 cup Ketchup (can’t let the almost five year old see this. she says she hates ketchup…)
  • 1/3 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard (don’t has. will use prepared mustard)
  • Tabasco To Taste (sriracha, of course)

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour milk over the bread slices. Allow it to soak in for several minutes. (I have never ever used soaked bread for meatloaf before. I’ve always either used crackers or bread crumbs. I wonder how this will change the texture of the meatloaf.)

Place the ground beef, milk-soaked bread, Parmesan, seasoned salt, salt, black pepper, and parsley in a large mixing bowl. Pour in beaten eggs.

With clean hands, mix the ingredients until well combined. Form the mixture into a loaf shape on a broiler pan, which will allow the fat to drain. (Line the bottom of the pan with foil to avoid a big mess!) (I don’t have a broiler pan. Mess here we come!)

Lay bacon slices over the top, tucking them underneath the meatloaf.

Make the sauce: add ketchup, brown sugar, mustard, and hot sauce in a mixing bowl. Stir together. Pour 1/3 of the mixture over the top of the bacon. Spread with a spoon.

Bake for 45 minutes, then pour another 1/3 of the sauce over the top. Bake for another 15 minutes. Slice and serve with remaining sauce.

***

What I ended up doing was making the meatloaf and storing it in the fridge until dinner time tomorrow. It’ll be so easy to just pop it in the oven around 4pm and it’ll be perfectly done by 5. I’ll be posting the side dish tomorrow to go along with this, so stay tuned.

About Jenn C.

English and Alternative Education teacher. Love blogging, cooking, hiking, and spending time with loved ones.
This entry was posted in comfort food, Jenn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

