The Moosewood Cookbook–Gado-Gado

For my last adventure in the Moosewood Cookbook, I wanted to make a point to try another one of the international recipes in the book.  This particular one said it was from Indonesia, a country I do not particularly know a lot about, but the recipe was mostly veggies with a peanut sauce base, and I have loved other peanut sauces from Vietnam, Thailand, etc.  Plus, I love the idea of just more interesting salads that make me actually want to eat them.

I made this recipe for my dad and me, since I had gestational diabetes during my pregnancy and my dad just found out that he is diabetic.  He was having a hard time with the frustration of “great, now what do I eat?” so I decided to make something yummy that would be good for both of us.  In fact, this ended up being the last meal that I ate before I went into labor the next morning so I felt like I was giving my daughter a good, healthy start coming into the world!

The recipe:

DSCN0050

The peanut sauce:

DSCN0053

Assembled ingredients:

DSCN0048

The sauce cooking (I used my immersion blender again to make a smooth, creamy sauce that came out great!)

DSCN0055DSCN0056

Assembling the salad:

DSCN0054

The possible ingredient combinations (we didn´t use everything, but we had some great results–I HIGHLY recommend the addition of the Trader Joe´s chili-lime cashews on top!)

DSCN0059

The bottom layer of veggies:

DSCN0061

Pouring on the sauce:

DSCN0064

Yummy toppings and final touches!

DSCN0065

Education notes: Fostering lifelong learning is a goal for most teachers.  I also try to encourage students not to take everything at face value and to do their own research.  I kept that in mind while cooking this recipe–how authentic was it, anyway?  I did a basic search and found out that the recipe (at least as I prepared it) was closer to karedok, a raw vegetable version of the dish.  See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gado-gado .  While the Moosewood Cookbook version allows for more flexibility in the composition of the veggies and toppings, there seems to be a prescribed composition for a more authentically Indonesian dish.  I would love to hear from anyone who has family in Indonesia or who has traveled there to see how this compares to their experiences.

This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Dairy-free, Diana, International Cuisine, Low(er) Carb, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Moosewood Cookbook–Gado-Gado

  1. emteixeira says:

    I have my own copy of the Moosewood cookbook at home. It helped me when I transitioned to vegetarianism last year. I also blogged about it! I love your educational note at the end.

  2. dianagwen says:

    Nice–glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by! There is so much variety in that cookbook–it truly is an all-purpose gem.

Leave a Reply

